leader icon

Our Stories

Read about the personal experiences of some of our service users.

 

Lynne's Story

“Hello my name is Lynne and I live in flat 1 at Sandhills in Stalbridge.  On a Tuesday I go to the Greenshed which is in Sherborne behind Castle Gardens.  Barry runs the Greenshed and he is very nice.

“Whilst I am there I make things with wood such as a heart, a box and hanging decorations which I really enjoy and I am proud of myself.

“I have made friends there and I get to enjoy TWO coffees with them.  I take my cheese sandwiches to eat there.

“Sometimes I go and look around the garden centre afterwards at all the pretty flowers.  "I REALLY enjoy going to the Greenshed – it makes me feel nice.”

Katherine's Story

"I didn’t like the local day centre and used to spend a lot of time in my room. It took a while to build up my confidence but I now have a job in a local office where I help with the shredding and collect the post.

My supporter comes with me and they understand what I need to make the day go well. I now feel part of the team."

Michael's Story

"My name is Mike and I live in a flat and I am supported by Encompass Dorset staff.  I share the flat with 3 other tenants.  I enjoy going to the village shop with my support workers, where I enjoy having coffee and doing my shopping.

"I also go to the local library and get talking books out.  I attend local blind clubs and enjoy going to these, especially when I win the raffle.

"We often attend shows; all of us from the flat like seeing different musical groups and acts.  We often have music quizzes in the flat and DVD nights.  I like doing the music quiz in the local magazine and I am supported to this by staff.  I listen to talking newspapers which are delivered to me at home."

Alex's Story

"Hi I'm Alex , I have a busy week of things to do, people to see and places to go.  On a Wednesday, for example, I’m part of a local group of people called the Community Shed who enjoy making things usually from scrap items, like old paper bags and drift wood.  As you can see from my picture I'm holding one I made earlier; then we sell them on the market .

"Also, in the evenings I enjoy things like bowling, going to the pub or out for a meal or games night with Busy Bees, to name a few.

"Also thought I'd tell you I've just come back from two weeks visiting my sister in Australia."